Free Range Readers

Nurturing Self Reliant Readers and Writers in K-6 classrooms

My “Bedside Stack” of Professional Books …. TBRs!

| 0 comments

Hello Readers!

So many good books and summer is on the horizon, so I’m gearing up to read the books that I know are going to help me on my way to becoming the educator I want to be!

Here’s what’s in my nightstand pile, so far:

First up is:

Troublemakers: Lessons in Freedom From Young Children at School, by Carla Shalaby.

https://thumbs.ebaystatic.com/images/g/xJoAAOSwuLZYzL7w/s-l225.jpg

This book is first on my list, not least because I am lucky to know Carla and to have worked with her. Carla’s passion social justice for children is unequaled, and I am so ready to read this book. You can read an interview with Carla about the book in The Atlantic here.

Next up is A Mindset for Learning: Teaching the Traits of Joyful, Independent Growth, by Kristine Mraz and Christine Hertz.

http://www.heinemann.com/shared/covers/9780325062884.jpg

This is a great book to read with colleagues and think in new ways together about how we foster a growth mindset in our schools and classrooms. The term “growth mindset” is becoming a bit jargon-y, but rest assured that this book provides thoughtful ways to be very intentional about language and actions for teachers and children. I learned about this book from Rachel Rothman at last October’s Saturday Reunion @tcrwp and have been dipping in and out of it since. My goal is to read it cover-to-cover this summer!

Another book I recently acquired and am looking forward to reading cover-to-cover is Who’s Doing The Work? How to Say Less So Readers Can Do More, by Jan Burkins and Kim Yaris. I love this book for it’s clarity and for addressing components of balanced literacy through the “Next Generation” lens. As a literacy coach, I appreciate the ways that Burkins and Yaris provide an updated look at tried and true components such as Read Aloud, Shared, Guided and Independent Reading. This is a great book to read with teachers in planning meetings. If you don’t know Burkins and Yaris, check out their eponymous  blog here.

That’s all for now, friends!

Happy Reading!

<3

 

 

Author: mnosal

I have been in education for all of my life, in one way or another. After teaching 5th grade at an urban public charter school, I have decided to return to the public schools and to literacy coaching K-5. I also teach and mentor preservice teachers.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.


Skip to toolbar